Greener

Lately, Mike and I have been eating much, much healthier. This was a huge lifestyle change prompted by his increasing cholesterol and other health risks.  At some point, I will start taking pictures of everything I eat,and post them, as a lot of you do.

My favorite meal so far is tuna salad (big can of dolphin-friendly, white, healthy tuna, 3 tablespoons of olive oil mayo, 6-10 cherry tomatoes diced, 1 whole large green onion, and 2-3 heaping teaspoons of sweet relish), sauteed veggies w/fresh thyme, and crackers.  I feel so light and energized after eating this meal.  Sometimes I add salad on the side, depending on what time of the day it is or how hungry I am.

Tuna, Veggies, and Crackers ...

Saturday I spent time at Lydia and Nick’s with a bunch of our friends helping them get their house ready for the baby.  Or should I say, everyone else did waaaay more than I did.  I arrived and took pictures of those who had already been working until Lydia returned to give me directions.

Of course, by that time, they were all having lunch, so I was just going to have to wait in my quest to help out.  I took some more pictures and chose watermelon and strawberries over pizza.  Yay me!

Unfortunately, I didn’t have too much time after they were done with lunch, so I used a magic eraser to get out some of the scratches and stains on the wall.  I’d imagine I’ll do more helping out when she needs it after the baby comes.

Date Night!

Saturday evening, Mike took me on a surprise visit to a forest preserve close to us (being the romantic devil that he is). My love of trees knows no bounds. He brought a bag with fruit and cottage cheese, bowls, utensils, and served me.  I love this man!

Later that night, I accidentally formatted my disk and lost every single picture housed on it.  Thankfully, they were only from Friday and Saturday.  We proceeded to enjoy our date night, sitting on the patio outdoors at Molly Malone’s Irish Pub in Forest Park.  Here is a pic with my devilish husband who is not in any way Irish, but almost looks it.  =)

I thought in lieu of the pictures I am missing I might post some amazing pics that I took near my local library that did make it on to my computer.  Trees make my heart beat faster.

The Standout Tree

The Gleaming Tree

Green Lit Way of Delight

2 thoughts on “Greener

  1. Kathy says:

    You two are adorable and how smart to eat right when you’re so young. I LOVE the photo of the gleaming tree.

  2. esther says:

    this actually makes me want to go get some tuna and make tuna salad! way to go guys!
    love the tree pics!
    we were also on madison on saturday night for dinner, crazy huh. we missed each other! we tried that new place called duckfat (over near skrine), because they also had an outdoor patio that was packed, so we thought we better check it out. it was quite good! i love anywhere i can sit outside and eat.

Leave a Reply

