A June Weekend Adventure Part 3


Jenn's Beautiful Courtyard

Jenn and I talked late into the evening at our eatery, and, of course, didn’t arrive back at her place until very, very late. I was still keyed up from my night of blissful photography, food, and friend, and I couldn’t get to sleep for hours.  I leafed through my pictures and watched old episodes of Friends until the wee hours.

When I woke early the next morning, I felt my body digging itself into the couch I was sleeping on. It was early, 5:30 a.m. to be exact.  I leafed through magazines and waited for Jenn to wake up.  Then it was time to pull on some grungy sweats and a t-shirt and cheer on our friend Becca as she ran in the North Shore Half Marathon/5K in Highland Park!

Becca at the start of the 5K ...

On the way to coffee ...

We arrived just as the 5K race was about to begin. I was able to break out the Snapper again, take some photos, and then, she was off!  Jenn and I met up with another of our very close circle, Jo, and went to get some coffee to get us through.

We positioned ourselves at the finish line. I realized that I wasn’t going to get a great shot of her from the side I was on, so I naughtily sped across when a long lull in finishers provided an empty space to run.  I felt a little guilty when I had to squeeze through on the other side and drew some annoyed looks from the volunteers housed near the sound system.

Here

It was worth it! Go Becca go!

We cheered her to the finish and then decided to head over to Walker Brothers The Original Pancake House. The scent of coffee wafted delicately through the air as the waiter poured for the girls around me.  I myself am NOT a coffee person.  Unless it is frozen and drenched in loads of sugar and syrup, I don’t touch it.  The smell of hot coffee, however, always covers me with its delicate haze of richness.  I can only wish that I enjoyed drinking it as much as I enjoy breathing it in.

French Toast

I ordered the delectable French Toast … and … a side order of bacon.  It was extremely delicious, but I can tell you it wasn’t a great choice.  I ate slowly, letting the powdered sugar, butter, and toast melt in my mouth.  Half hour later, I had a stomach ache that didn’t leave me for about 24 hours.  Lack of sleep + very buttery French toast = a sick feeling that will not quit.  Plus, for the first time in a long time, my body is getting used to eating more clean.  Tuna, fruit, greens, veggies, and crackers are definitely NOT supposed to prepare a person for the spicy Thai cuisine and fatty breakfast food that I had.

Joanna "posing" with her Bodybugg

One of the many gorgeous stained glass windows.

Beautiful stained glass light fixture

After our indulgent breakfast, we went outside where more pictures of friends who had not been together for a while were in order. I love having willing subjects!

Jo and Jenn!

Jo up to her typical antics!

I think you'll understand if Becca and I are worried about Joanna's teeth ...

Joining Jo in her awesome craziness ...

Jo looking too happy to be emo ... maybe if I change it to black and white?

A very, very tired Christy

The fun had to end at some point. I was sad to see my girls go, but I was so exhausted, all I could think of was my wonderful bed at home.

Leave a Reply

