DSLR Fun!

I’ve found myself working hard at learning what my DSLR has to offer.  More than anything, I’m getting excited for our Colorado trip!  I’m a really visual person, so the thought that I will be able to artistically capture what I see is thrilling.
The gorgeous peonies that Mike and I bought at the Farmer’s Market two weeks ago are now out of commission, but we plan on getting flowers every time we go.  Peonies are definitely my favorite!

These were the first photos I took with my DSLR, and I can’t wait to take more now that I’ve been refreshing my knowledge on shutter speed and aperture.  I love how peonies become so huge once they open up.  They are a fluffy flower, no doubt about it.

I took these pictures using flash, as I hadn’t had a chance to play around yet.  More recently I did some series with my little kitten muse to test out light and speed.

I overexposed a bit, but I like the look. Then I really began to document the lighting near the window in my apartment. You’ll notice the increase in light as the pictures progress.

He’s such a darling little muse that I just had to take a few more.  I love the delicate cat hairs around their ears!

Purring ….

Of course, right now he is pawing at the pile of files I am working through.  Better go and try to tame the beast!
Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “DSLR Fun!

  1. joanna says:

    It’s funny because I keep thinking DSLR is some reading program or something….reminds me of ESL…who knows- but I am glad you are enjoying your camera

  2. Courtney says:

    Your kitty is SO CUTE!!! 🙂

  3. Awww … thanks Courtney! I am kind of partial to him as well, the little monster! =P

  4. Love your cat pics. Thanks for leave a comment in my blog.

Leave a Reply

