A Full Life

After my rant today, I attended my oldest nephew’s 3 year birthday party. All our parties these days are full of kids, especially boys.  Rambunctious boys crawling or scooting across my sister’s laminate flooring.  Delightful dark-haired and golden-haired boys taking turns on the bike, the play train, and swinging the new bat.  Bright-eyed boys grabbing handfuls of pigs-in-a-blanket or absentmindedly licking the serving spoon.

My nephews are an exceptional form of entertainment.  They are exhausting and exhilarating all in the same moment.

I’m having a good flashback, the kind I need to stay focused on. Last year, when Ian was born, I stayed with Joe until Mommy and Daddy could come home.  I remember how nervous and excited Joe was to have a little brother.  He couldn’t even fully comprehend it.  I made up a little song that I sang to him over and over again.  I don’t remember the exact words … I love making up lyrics on-the-spot and then promptly forgetting them.  I do remember that the song was about him being just as special now as he ever had been.  I remember singing him to sleep with songs about what an amazing big brother he was going to be. “Joe the big brother hero.” =)

Tonight at the party, I stood back and took in how full life could be with children in it. Not the children I teach at school, but children of my own.  I know that I don’t know the half of how hard it will be, but I know it will be extremely difficult.  Those of you that know me, know how nervous I am about having children.  However, I am getting closer to being ready.

Until that time, I realize I need to focus less on all the things that have been cluttering up my life: obsession with sociopathy, being overwhelmed with responsibilities, school politics, and more on the things that I love.

So here is the list of things that I feel need a return of my attention and time.

  • Photography – The picture at the top of my page is one of my favorites taken, along with a sister photo below.  I want to find my camera(s) and get back to the business of noticing life.
  • Writing – I certainly want to blog more often, but now that I am beginning to understand the business of writer’s workshop, I want to write some picture books that include the elements good writers need.  In essence … I want to write books children will enjoy that can also be marketed to teachers.
  • Makeup – I have really enjoyed all the makeup tutorials that I have gone through via Youtube. I want to try different looks out on friends and then go out on the town!
  • Reading – I need to find new books in different genres – shake things up a bit!  Can’t wait for the summer to get away from the young adult books and into the adult.
  • Cooking – New recipes, old friends … I want to get that cooking together, but invite some folks over to enjoy it.  Bring it on summer!
  • Scrapbooking – The girls were talking tonight about getting together to scrapbook.  This is a past time I’ve always wanted be more involved in, but to me, it seems the most fun if you are with people doing it!
  • Travel Planning – Mike and I are planning a trip to Colorado this summer.  I want to relish the enjoyment of planning this lovely excursion.  I haven’t been on a real vacation since my brother took us the Disney World 14 or so years ago.
  • Discovering Music – Music drives my soul.  Life is just so much better with music in it, and finding new, heart-stopping sounds changes my mood and the story of my life in an instant.

So many things to focus on.  So many things to write about.  If you get a chance, click on the photo below to view the full-sized photo.  It just captures the essence of innocence and sparkling summer.

2 thoughts on “A Full Life

  1. kathyatwood says:

    Christy, I know you’ll be a fantastic mom! Sounds like you’re going to be very busy in the very near future. Great ideas!

  2. […] to hold off on making the decision until after I did a little makeover.  You know one of my summer goals was to use all the makeup tips I’ve been gleaning from Youtube on my friends and go out on […]

Leave a Reply

